Fri Jan 30th, 2015
Home About Us Operations Programs/Projects Public Information
Go Search!
Photo Gallery

Dusty snow

Weather Reports
Snow Reports
Avalanche Reports
Water Glossary
Calendar of Events
printable version

About Us

Mission Statement:

To lead in the protection, conservation, use, and development

of the water resources of the Colorado River basin

for the welfare of the District, and to safeguard for Colorado all waters

of the Colorado River to which the state is entitled.

Who we are & what we do
The Colorado River District is the principal water policy and planning agency for the Colorado River Basin within the State of Colorado. The River District is responsible for the conservation, use, protection, and development of Colorado's apportionment of the Colorado River. The River District provides legal, technical, and political representation regarding Colorado River issues for our constituents.

The Colorado River Water Conservation District is a public water policy agency chartered by the Colorado General Assembly in 1937 to be "the appropriate agency for the conservation, use and development of the water resources of the Colorado River and its principal tributaries in Colorado."   The District is comprised of 15 West Slope counties in which a majority of the Colorado River Basin in the State of Colorado exists. These counties are Moffat, Routt, Grand,  Summit, Eagle, Pitkin, Gunnison, Delta, Mesa, Garfield, Rio Blanco, Ouray, and portions of Montrose, Saguache and Hinsdale. The District covers approximately 29,000 square miles, roughly 28% of the land area of Colorado.     The southernmost part of the Colorado River basin in Colorado that encompasses the San Juan River and its tributaries and the upper reaches of the Dolores River are not included within the Colorado River District.
The Colorado River Water Conservation District is governed by a Board of Directors. Each of the 15 counties within the District has one appointed representative. All policies, Resolutions, budget actions and other major activities of the Colorado River District are approved by the Board.

What's in a Name?
The Colorado River Water Conservation District is known by several names, which are often used interchangeably. The following list covers the permutations of our name:
     Colorado River Water Conservation District,
     Colorado River District,
     River District,
The River District is often confused with the Colorado Water Conservation Board (CWCB), which has a separate and distinct mission from the River District. The CWCB is a statewide agency, based in Denver and also founded in 1937, that pursues water supply protection, flood protection, water supply planning and finance, stream and lake protection and conservation and drought planning for the State of Colorado.

P.O. Box 1120 - Glenwood Springs, CO 81602 - 201 Centennial, Suite 200 - Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
(970) 945-8522 FAX (970) 945-8799
Site Map